Frequently Asked Questions
- Is your program approved by the state of Texas?
- Why should I take a Driving Safety Course?
- Will your Driving Safety Course help me to dismiss a ticket from my record?
- Will I get an insurance discount for taking your Driving Safety Course?
- Does the course cost anything?
- How do I pay for the course?
- Do I need to verify my identity?
- Is your Driving Safety Course difficult to complete?
- How long does it take to complete a Driving Safety Course?
- I'm already a student. How do I get back into the online course?
- Is the entire course online?
- Will I be tested on the material?
- What happens after I complete the course?
- Can you send my Certificate directly to the court?
- The information on my Certificate is wrong. Can I get a revised copy?
- What can I do if my court-issued due date has passed?
- I need a copy of my driver record for the court. Can you help me with that?
- Is my personal information safe with you?
- Do you have a refund policy?
Below are responses to our most frequently asked questions. Click the link on the left to get the answer. If you have a question that is not answered here, please feel free to contact us with your inquiry.
Is your program approved by the state of Texas? back to top
Absolutely! Our Driving Safety Course has been approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) for use statewide, and it meets or exceeds the standards established by Texas law for traffic citation dismissal and insurance discounts.
Why should I take a Driving Safety Course? back to top
Students may attend a Texas Driving Safety Course for the following reasons:
- Ticket Dismissal: The successful completion of a Driving Safety Course allows drivers to dismiss one traffic ticket every 12 months.
- Insurance Premium Discount: Many insurance companies offer premium discounts to drivers who complete a defensive driving course.
- Safety Education: Some motorists complete a Driving Safety Course simply because they want to learn to become better, safer drivers. Some employers may also allow their fleet drivers to complete this course as part of on-the-job training or continuing education requirements.
- Ordered by a Court: Drivers may be required by a judge/court to complete a Driving Safety Course.
Will your Driving Safety Course help me to dismiss a ticket from my record? back to top
Yes! Drivers may dismiss one traffic ticket every twelve (12) months by successfully completing a Driving Safety Course. In order to dismiss a traffic ticket, the person must not hold a commercial driver license (CDL), must plead guilty/no contest to the citation, and must not have been cited for exceeding the posted speed limit by 25+ mph. There are other criteria, and the court has the final decision on whether you'll be permitted to dismiss the ticket. Driving Safety Course completions may not be "saved" and used to dismiss a later traffic violation; drivers must complete a course after the traffic violation, and the court may dismiss only one charge for each course completion.
Drivers who are licensed out-of-state may, with the Texas judge's permission, be allowed to take a course to dismiss a ticket. Active-duty military personnel who receive a traffic citation but do not have a Texas driver license are permitted to dismiss a Texas traffic ticket by taking a course if they have not completed a similar course for the purposes of ticket dismissal in another state within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense.
Will I get an insurance discount for taking your Driving Safety Course? back to top
Yes! Many insurance companies offer a discount—usually around 10% for a period of three years—on the liability portion of automobile insurance premiums if drivers provide proof of completion of an approved Driving Safety Course. Drivers should confirm the availability and details of this benefit with their insurance agent.
Does the course cost anything? back to top
Unfortunately, there is a small cost for Driving Safety Courses. Course providers are privately operated businesses; and whether you sit in a class or choose any online program, you will need to pay a similar fee.
The good news is that we offer the cheapest price allowed by Texas law—ONLY $25! And that one low price of tuition covers everything you need to successfully complete your Driving Safety Course, including immediate access to our website and the regular processing of your completion. Plus we have the friendliest service and support in the industry!
How do I pay for the course? back to top
You may pay for the course by credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express) or by check. After you fill out the registration form, you are linked to a secure page where payment is quick and effortless. The payment process is encrypted, making your online purchase secure and completely safe.
Do I need to verify my identity? back to top
The state of Texas requires that we verify your identity. In order to do so, you will be asked a series of questions about yourself during the registration process. Periodically throughout the course, you'll be asked personal validation questions: the questions you answered during registration as well as some other questions related to your personal information. You must promptly answer these questions in the same way as you did during registration
By regulation, students who miss a cumulative total of more than three (3)—30% of the total—personal validation questions are deemed to have failed the course and will be disqualified.
Is your Driving Safety Course difficult to complete? back to top
We promise you'll love the ease and simplicity of our Driving Safety Course. Our easy-to-read Internet course is entertaining, informative, and loaded with colorful graphics, videos, and cartoons. And there's no final exam; simply take a few short quizzes on what you've just learned as you progress through the course.
How long does it take to complete a Driving Safety Course? back to top
We offer the shortest course allowed by Texas law: Driving Safety Courses are required to last at least six (6) hours.
If you take the course online, however, you're free to take as long as you need to complete the course on your schedule. The computer tracks your completed chapters as you proceed through the course. If you log out and then sign back in, you'll be taken to our "Student Center" page. There you'll be able to continue with the course right where you left off, and you'll have access to completed chapters for review.
I'm already a student. How do I get back into the online course? back to top
You may re-enter the online course, via the link on the home page of this site, as many times as necessary to complete the program.
If you are having problems accessing the course, you may contact us for technical support.
Is the entire course online? back to top
Yes! You can complete the entire course from any computer or mobile device—anywhere you have Internet access!
Will I be tested on the material? back to top
There's no final exam, but the state of Texas does require that you demonstrate you've learned something from the course. A short quiz follows each section of the reading material, and you can easily review the material and retake (up to a total of three (3) attempts per section of the reading material) any quiz that you don't pass.
But don't worry—it's not rocket science, and we try to make the course as easy as possible! So, sit back and relax. We'll have you back on the road in no time!
What happens after I complete the course? back to top
After you successfully complete the course, we'll issue your official Certificate of Course Completion. Your Certificate is accessible via a link that is emailed to you within one (1) business day of your graduation. Simply click the link in the email, enter the username and password to your student account on that linked page, and your Certificate will be presented via a Web page from which you can download and/or print your documents.
You'll receive two (2) copies of your Certificate of Course Completion: one to turn in to your court and another for your automobile insurance provider. Once your Certificate has been submitted to your court, they will dismiss your ticket.
You may elect to order a paper copy of your Certificate for a nominal fee, and we offer expedited shipping options for you last-minute students!
(If you have ordered a copy of your driver record, you will receive a second email, usually within one (1) business day, with instructions on how to access your document. If you have ordered a paper copy of your Certificate, the driver record will be enclosed in the same envelope as that mailed document.)
Can you send my Certificate directly to the court? back to top
No. We need to send your official Certificate of Course Completion to you, and you must sign it before turning it in to your court. Do not put the court's address when filling out your shipping information; the court will not accept your Certificate without your signature.
The information on my Certificate is wrong. Can I get a revised copy? back to top
Your official Certificate of Course Completion is generated using the information you provided during registration. If anything needs to be changed, you may contact customer service with the correct information. There is a $10 charge to issue a revised Certificate.
What can I do if my court-issued due date has passed? back to top
Contact your court immediately. Driving Safety schools are not authorized to grant extensions, but the court that issued your citation may be able to help you.
I need a copy of my driver record for the court. Can you help me with that? back to top
Yes! Many Texas courts require students of a Driving Safety Course to submit a copy of their official driver record along with their Certificate of Course Completion. If you select this helpful and convenient option during registration, we'll process your driver record request within one (1) business day of your completion and email with instructions on how to access your document. (If you have ordered a paper copy of your Certificate, the driver record will be enclosed in the same envelope as that mailed document.)
Is my personal information safe with you? back to top
Yes! Our internet site and student data are stored and transmitted safely and securely, and none of your payment or personal information will ever be released to any third party (except to the courts or agencies of the State of Texas, as requested, in compliance with the law). We do not give, sell, or provide your email address to anyone (unless court/State requested). As an approved traffic safety education provider and a company with a 40-year-old reputation for quality and integrity, it's our job to ensure your information is safe and protected. That's our promise to you and we guarantee it. And that's why over 2 million satisfied customers have completed our courses.
Do you have a refund policy? back to top
It's important to us that you have a great educational experience and are satisfied with your purchase. Please contact our customer service team for technical assistance or with any other questions or concerns that you may have about the course or your paperwork.
In most cases, students who have not attempted a final exam, or who have not been issued a certification of completion or had their completion reported to regulatory authorities, may be eligible for a refund. Please contact customer service by phone or email for further details or to make a refund request.